Count On Us: Powered By Amelia Brown & Consumers Energy

Full Name: Amelia Brown

Position: Leadership Development Consultant

Service Length: 5 years

What does your typical day look like?

There is no such thing as a typical day! That is what I enjoy the most about my career. Each day is different. One day I might be teaching a course in Jackson for a group of mid-level leaders and the next I am teaching a course on valuing the differences of others. How neat is that?!

What excites you about your job?

The part of my job that excites me the most is my ability to get up and inspire and motivate people to be the very best they can be. I work with and train many of the leaders of Consumers Energy.  I receive my energy from interacting with others and have a zest for training and development. I receive joy from my job when someone tells me that they were able to apply something that I taught them. Or they had an “AHA” that changed the way they looked at something or the way they performed in their job.

What is your proudest moment since working here?

My proudest moment working here was June 17, 2014 and that was when I was able to present the Empowerment Award to my very first supervisor at Consumers Energy, Sherrie Bradley. I am a member of one of Consumers Energy’s employee resource groups: The Women’s Advisory Panel. The mission of the panel is to contribute to the achievement of Consumers Energy’s corporate strategy by supporting the retention, development and success of women. The Empowerment Award is an annual award that recognizes an employee who empowers women to lead and excel by promoting equality, development and success that enhances business results.

I was so honored to recognize Sherrie because she helped shape my career. She aided me in advancing my career, would go above and beyond for me, and introduced opportunity for me to challenge myself. It’s because of people like Sherrie, that I am proud to wear the colors!

What inspired you to work for a utility company?

I was inspired to work for Consumers Energy because of my Dad, Al Stephens.  My Dad started working for Consumers Energy when I was 9 months old. He has dedicated his life to the art of learning his craft and flourishing in his career. He has always taken great pride in providing great service to our customers. That same work ethic is what I strive for in my career every single day.

What makes our company unique?

Our rich tradition and long lasting history is what makes Consumers Energy unique. We have been around for over 127 years. That means something. Our customers rely on us to provide them with one of life’s necessities and conveniences.

How many people in Michigan can say that they work for a company that “Powers the Lives” of others? They help breathe life and energy into someone’s day, every day. I think our CEO John Russell says it best, “Consumers Energy powers the lives of our customers for less than $3.00 per day”. That is less than a cup of coffee. You can power your entire home for that.  I take a lot of pride in that. We offer a fantastic value and we have a tremendous responsibility to the folks in Michigan.

What are your hobbies outside of work?

Right now, I am competing in a community service pageant called: Miss Plus America. Earlier this month, I was crowned as the 2015 Ms. Michigan Plus America. I will go to Atlanta in August to compete for the national title of Miss Plus America Elite. The Miss Plus America Pageant System is a 501(C) 4 organization devoted to celebrating the essence of the full-figured woman by providing traditional beauty pageant competition for those teens and women ages 13 and up, sizes 14W and up. The purpose of the pageant is to promote self-confidence and to give every woman an avenue to promote her platform.

It’s so much fun to complete and work with such incredible women and provide my cause of Speaking from the Heart, educating women about the risk of heart disease.

Tell us about a cause you care about.

As a member of the Women’s Advisory Panel for the last few years, one of our biggest campaigns of the year is the GO RED for Women campaign. We educate women about the risk of heart disease. Heart disease is the leading killer of women in this country. Heart disease kills more women than all the cancers combined! I made it my mission to educate women about the dangers and give them resources to live healthier lives.