“Tell Your Story” Facebook Contest: Randy Farrow at Consumers Energy

Consumers Energy employees care for our Michigan communities. Randy Farrow, a senior engineer in Owosso, Mich., enjoys volunteering at Morrice Area schools. Check out his volunteer story:

Randy Farrow reading to students of Morrice Area Schools.
Randy Farrow reading to students of Morrice Area Schools.

“I decided to become a school board member because I am committed to life-long learning and being actively involved in my community. I saw school board service as an opportunity to bring learning and community service together. Sometimes it’s fun, sometimes it’s not; but too often I see people shy away from school board service because they don’t want to deal with the challenges. I believe in what President Theodore Roosevelt said:

“Nothing in the world is worth having or worth doing unless it means effort, pain, difficulty…I have never in my life envied a human being who led an easy life. I have envied a great many people who led difficult lives and led them well.”

As the current school board president, I am able to advocate and promote high expectations that challenge students and staff, allowing them to experience the thrill of achieving a goal after working hard to do it.

During my four years of service, the district has:

  • Improved its fund balance from a dangerously low 3 percent to a healthy 13 percent
  • Increased student outcomes as demonstrated by the high school moving up the state’s top to bottom rankings from the 14th percentile to the 57th percentile

The improvements are the results of a lot of hard work to develop and progress toward the vision shared amongst the school board, superintendent and staff. The success we are seeing makes my service as a school board member gratifying.”

Vote for your favorite “Tell Your Story” contestant on Consumers Energy’s Facebook page. The winner will be determined by the highest amount of likes, comments and shares on each volunteer’s video. Voting ends Nov. 21 at noon.